Just because an idea makes money, doesn’t make the idea a good one. I’m fairly sure our friends at Enron and Big Tobacco might agree. So if we’ve been building a relationship together on a social network and I suddenly decide to send you a direct message (DM) on Twitter to take an online IQ or EQ quiz, chances are you’re going to check it out. If you then take that quiz, but have to enter your mobile number to get to the answer, and then later discover a recurring $9.95/mo. charge on your account, what does that do to our relationship?
Ethics and belief in your product or service are the most important reasons to share or promote your business, not money. A client of mine had been following and been followed by a local resident on Twitter. For those people in Westminster who follow him, he sends a special offer as an auto-response using SocialOomph.com.
Today he gets a direct message from Sandy Bielinski-Rice (@SandyBR325, also seen on Facebook) with the following message:

Curious, I checked out the quiz, seemed harmless enough. Spent 4 minutes and answered all the questions. Upon reaching the final page after answering all 10 questions, I get to a message stating that I must enter my mobile number to get my results. Below the form (in small gray print) is the catch: $9.95 per month will be billed to my cell phone carrier account. Hey gee thanks Sandy Bielinski-Rice, some friend you are.

Based on the tracking URL: http://www.geniusinspiration.org/s/us_iqme_122_30e67/index.php?ref4=4914&ref5=6505&link_type=site&ref2=link&ref3=sh_usper_link&keyword=103452&od=pja23c, one can make a safe assumption that Sandy was trying to make a buck on an affiliate program. One DM and she completely destroyed all trust and now even worse, the whole world will know that she’s a spammer.
Now, let’s expose these frauds who have absolutely no affiliate marketing ethics. I popped the domain name into whois.sc and a few other registrars only to find out that they are hiding their names using private registration. I’d hide too if I knew thousands of people would come looking for me after I ripped them off. Here’s what I came up with:

According to Quantcast, nearly 10k visitors per month are falling to prey to this IQ Me scam! The name server hosting these con sites is Stroobl.com hosting the following websites:
- stroobel.com
- all4txt.com
- online-iq.com
- stroobl.com
- cellrow.com
- quiztestz.com
- mobularity.org
- fun4yourfone.com
- cellfoneguru.com
- geniusinspiration.org
The server is based in Phoenix, Arizona, by a hosting company named “Atjeu Publishing”. The ONLY domain on the IP that is NOT a private registration is cellfoneguru.com . In fact, it’s ran by a “Dale Carr” in Los Angeles, California with an email of domains@365adsolutions.com. Address: 600/1800 Century Park East, Los Angeles, California 90027. So now the question comes, “what’s the correlation between Dale Carr and Sandy Bielinski-Rice?”. Besides the fact that they are both in Southern California, I’m really not sure.
Sad part is that there are now dozens of other domains and hosts serving this garbage:
I’ve notified the hosting company and encourage you to do the same. Whether you’re doing SEO or Affiliate Marketing, think twice about what you’re serving. If your content helps fill a need at a fair price, heck, I might even share the information for you. If not, if you are being unethical to make a buck, it might be your name cached in Google like this post for the rest of your life.
Ethics = Think About It.